A large number of marine benthos live at the bottom of sea. These animals have graciously different appearance from those terrocoles and their existence in the deep sea bears the best witness to their tenacity, including some that can survive an airless environment.

Many marine organisms look like to be the archetypal images in science fictions. So maybe it is not surprising to discover a deep-sea kingdom of mermaids someday! Now let’s talk about12 fantastic deep-sea organisms, unveiling the mysterious area.

1. Salp

The first one is Salp. This species plays a fundamental role in the whole process of carbon cycling in that it can help to gather wastes and convert them into carbonic particles which will deposit as a sediment, reducing carbon sustance in the surface water in a large part.

2. Ctenophore

The second one is Ctenophore. The forms are extremely diverse according to its specific species. There are shapes of sphere, oval, ribbon or long stripe, also some of butterfly-like and  turbellarian-like. During the whole life circle, floating is the normal condition of Ctenophore.

They move forward the medusa by the continuous swing of cilia plate which helps to flow the current backward. The colorful one is not the result of bioluminescence but the scattering light of  moving cilia in water.

3.Entacmaea Quadricolor

The third one is Entacmaea Quadricolor,a kind of sea anemone in the Indo-Paciffic Oceans. It is considered to be the habitat for numerous clownfishes, also including  various shapes or forms and colors, like rosiness, orange, red, and green . Its diameter can reach a length of 30 centimeters.

This species can absorb the most amount of energy of sunlight through the medium of zooxanthellae. It accomplishes the filter-feeding by resorting to tentacles or consuming the waste from the surface of clownfishes. It is generally thought that its teat-shaped tentacles are highly related to the luminosity of sunlight.

4. Synchiropus Splendidus

The fourth one is Synchiropus Splendidus,with the alias of frog fish because of its frog-like head outline and eyes. This species is originated from West Pacific,mainly from the south Ryukyu Islands to Australian waters.

Identified as a kind of callionymidae, it has a thin and colorful body and in accordance with the body color, it can be further classified into three types: red frog fish, green frog fish, colorful frog fish.

5. Water Bear

The fifth one is called Water Bear,whose length is shorter than one millimeter,but it can be the laureate of survival. This species is able to survive extreme temperatures, from the absolute zero(about 273.15 degree centigrade) to 180 degree centigrade.

Apart from that, the radiation endurance of it is one thousand times more than most other animals. What is more, being proven to be the first species which can live in the outer space,it can come bake to life again after being dried for ten years.

6. Dumbo Octupus

The sixth one is Dumbo Octupus, which is named after the movie of Dumbo owing to its elephant ears-like fins.  It lives in the seafloor, almost a depth of four thousand meters.

7. Vampire squid

The seventh one Vampire squid, has an astonishing history of three hundred million years, nicknamed as the”living fossil species”. Its fierce and scary out-looking is not the real reflection of its temperament.

It is never inclined to kill. In fact,in the dark deep sea, it lives on the bodies and excretion of other organisms, just scaring the predators with its terrifying appearance rather than actually ferocious murder.

8. Lightbulb Sea Squirt

The eighth one is Lightbulb Sea Squirt,with the form of a cylinder and a length of around four centimeters,from whose transparent outerwear we can see the yellow and white organs. It looks like bulb, which is the reason it gets the name.

It can be found along the coast of Norway. However,it is widely  distributed around the world, like the Atlantic, the North Sea, the English Channel and the Mediterranean Sea. This species always assemble loosely and it rejuvenates in the summer and grows fiercely in the winter.

9. Clove Hydra

The ninth one is Clove Hydra, also called Glove Hydra. It has eight tentacles and it usually spreads across the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. It has different colors like brown, red,pink, white, and green. The smaller ones are called Clove Hydra while larger sizes ones are named as Glove Hydra, but the eight tentacles are one necessity of the species no matter what the size is.

It mainly feeds itself iodine, mysis, plankton and microelements. Usually, it forms into groups to act and needs an appropriate amount of light. It is able to grow wildly and quickly when parasitic on coral reefs and stones.

10. Bubble Coral

The tenth one is wonderful Bubble Coral. Both of its expansion and inflation need light. During the daylight, it expands into the shape of bubble, pearl and grape. After it accomplishes the air leakage,hard skeletons become obvious.

These corals are so fragile that the slight contact can turn them in pieces. As a result,it can be concluded that it would not be too careful to pay delicate attention to the tentacles during the process of collection and handling for the Bulb Coral . The species mainly appears in the Indian Ocean,the Pacific Ocean and the Red Sea.

11. Sea Spider

The eleventh is Sea Spider. Don’t be naive to believe any longer that spider can not live in the sea. As a matter of fact, the both don’t have an intimate relationship with each other in spite of the similar out-looking and names.

12. Sea Butterfly

The twelfth one is Sea Butterfly. But to our surprise, it does not look like butterfly but snail, with two wing-like feet enabling its roaming the vast sea.

Tags : Underwater Creatures

Leave a Response